Faculty Listing and Profiles

A

Emily Aguiló-Pérez

Aguiló-Pérez, Emily
Assistant Professor
Main Hall 116 | EAguilo-Perez@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., The Pennsylvania State University
Interests: Children’s and Youth Literatures and Cultures; Childhood Studies; Representation and Diversity in Children’s Literature and Media; Toys and Media Studies; Girlhood Studies; Latinx Identities and Representation; Children’s Rights; Popular Culture; Disney Studies

Jacqueline Alnes

Alnes, Jacqueline
Assistant Professor
Main Hall 528 | JAlnes@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., Oklahoma State University
Interests: Creative Nonfiction, Literary Journalism, Memoir, Poetry, Disability Studies, Intersections between Composition, Creative Writing, and Literature

Amy Anderson

Anderson, Amy
Associate Professor
Main Hall 508 | AAnderson@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., University of Kentucky
Interests: Visual Rhetoric; Multimodal Composition; History of Rhetoric; Jewish Rhetoric; Digital Rhetoric; Byzantine Iconography

Hannah Ashley

Ashley, Hannah M.
Professor
Main Hall 109 | HAshley@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., Temple University
Interests: First-generation and Working-Class University Students; Basic Writing; Bakhtinian Voicing Theory; Critical Discourse Analysis; Critical Pedagogy; Service Learning; Community and Academic Literacies

Awuyah, Christian

Awuyah, Christian
Professor
Main Hall 517 | CAwuyah@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., University of Alberta
Interests: African Literature; World Literature; Comparative Literature; Ghanaian Literature

B

Banner, Rachel

Banner, Rachel
Associate Professor; Assistant Chair for Faculty Evaluations and Elections
Main Hall 507 | RBanner@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Interests: 19th-century African American Literature; Frederick Douglass; 19th-Century U.S. Literature; 19th-Century Aesthetic Theories; Law and Literature

Betz, Barbara G.

Betz, Barbara G.
Instructor
Main Hall 312 | BBetz@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., University of Delaware
Interests: Popular Women's Fiction; the Victorian Novel; Composition; Local History

Blake, Michelle

Blake, Michelle
Assistant Professor
Main Hall 510 | MBlake@wcupa.edu
Education: M.A., Columbia University
Interests: Developmental Writing; First-Year Writing; Online Writing Instruction; First-year Experience

Burns, Michael

Burns, Michael
Associate Professor
Main Hall 544 | MBurns2@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign
Interests: African American Rhetorics; Composition and Rhetoric; Rhetoric and the Built Environment; Teaching Non-Traditional College Students

C

Cooke, Laquana

Cooke, Laquana
Assistant Professor; Director of iCamp Media Academy icampwcu.org
Main Hall 115 | LCooke2@wcupa.edu
Education:Ph.D., Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Interests: Generative STEM Education; Digital Rhetoric; Critical Literacy and Pedagogy; Digital-Based Learning; Games Studies; Design Research

Cream, Randall

Cream, Randall
Associate Professor
Main Hall 544 | RCream@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., University of Connecticut
Interests: Digital Humanities; Data Mining; Gaming; Technologies of Writing; Early Modern Philosophy and Literature; Distance Education

D

Dodson-Robinson, Eric

Dodson-Robinson, Eric
Associate Professor
Main Hall 515 | EDodson-Robinson@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign
Interests: Reception Studies; Revenge Drama; Seneca; Tragedy; Shakespeare's Reception of the Classics; Cross-Cultural Encounters in the Ancient World; Archaic Greek Poetry

Dougherty, Tim

Dougherty, Tim
Associate Professor; Assistant Chair For Students and Student Learning
Main Hall 542 | TDougherty@wcupa.edu | 610-436-1682
Education: Ph.D., Syracuse University
Interests: Histories of Rhetoric; Cultural Rhetorical Theories; Intersectional Feminist Rhetorics; Critical Ethnic and Settler Colonial Studies; Irish Studies; Labor Issues in Writing Program Administration; Contemplative and Antiracist Writing Pedagogy

Duval, Peter

Duval, Peter
Associate Professor
Main Hall 551 | PDuval@wcupa.edu
Education: M.F.A., Boston University; M.A. (Literature), University of Illinois; M.A. (Film Studies), New York University
Interests: Short Fiction; Creative Writing; Film Studies; Book and Web Design; Editing

E

Ersheid, Alison

Ersheid, Alison
Assistant Professor
Main Hall 104 | AErsheid@wcupa.edu 
Education: M.F.A. Fiction Writing, George Mason University
Interests: Professional and Technical Writing; Retention and Persistence in Underprepared Writers; First Year Writing; Short Fiction

Kristine Ervin headshot

Ervin, Kristine
Associate Professor
Main Hall 102 | KErvin@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., University of Houston; M.F.A., New York University
Interests: Creative Nonfiction; Poetry; Memoir; Intersections between Literature, Creative Writing, and Composition

 

Ervin, Margaret

Ervin, Margaret
Professor
Main Hall 103 | MErvin@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., University at Albany, State University of New York
Interests: Composition; Rhetoric; English Education; Business Writing

Esch, Stacy

Esch, Stacy
Assistant Professor
Main Hall 535 | SEsch@wcupa.edu
Education: M.A., West Chester University of Pennsylvania
Interests: General Education; Composition and Rhetoric; Popular Culture Studies; Contemporary Topics in Literature

F

Famiglietti, Andy

Famiglietti, Andy
Assistant Professor
Main Hall 538 | AFamiglietti@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., Bowling Green State University
Interests: Digital Writing and Rhetoric; Critical Approaches to New Media; Digital Culture; Wikipedia; Digital Humanities

G

Gates, Nwenna

Gates, Nwenna
Instructor
Main Hall 106 | NGates@wcupa.edu
Education: M.F.A. - Writing, School of the Art Institute of Chicago
Interests: TV/Film Writing; Poetry; Non-fiction/Memoir; African American Films; Documentary Filmmaking; First Year Writing; Children's Literature

Green, Paul D.

Green, Paul D.
Professor
Main Hall 538 | PGreen@wcupa.edu | 610-738-0498
Education: Ph.D., Harvard University
Interests: 16th- and 17th-Century British Literature; Jewish Literature; Literature of the Holocaust

H

Halko, Gabrielle

Halko, Gabrielle
Professor
Main Hall 543 | GHalko@wcupa.edu | 610-436-2371
Education: Ph.D., Western Michigan University; M.F.A., Bowling Green State University
Interests: Children's & Young Adult Literatures and Cultures; Diversity and Representation in Childhood Studies; Children's Experiences of War/Internment/Occupation in Children's Literature; Japanese American Incarceration in Children's Literature; Literature of the Great Depression; Pedagogy of Poetry; American Poetry

Hurt, Erin

Hurt, Erin
Professor; Department Chair
Main Hall 536 | EHurt@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Interests: U.S. Latinx Literatures; 20th-Century American Literatures; Women & Gender Studies; Cultural Studies

J

James, Patrick

James, Patrick
Instructor
Main Hall 502 | PJames@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., The Graduate Center, City University of New York
Interests: Composition; LGBTQIA+ Rhetorics; Archival Studies; Queer Literacy; Creative Writing

K

Kahn, Seth

Kahn, Seth
Professor
Main Hall 520 | SKahn@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., Syracuse University
Interests: Composition and Rhetoric; Qualitative Research Methods; Labor Organizing and Rhetoric; Teaching and Scholarship as Activist Work; Marxism; Cultural Studies; Punk Rock Music; Counterculture

Kondrlik, Kristin

Kondrlik, Kristin
Associate Professor
Main Hall 508 | KKondrlik@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University
Interests: Health Communication; Business and Technical Writing; Medical Rhetoric; Rhetorical History; Print Culture Studies; Medicine and Literature; Women's Writing

Konigsberg, Lisa

Konigsberg, Lisa
Assistant Professor
Main Hall 412 | LKonigsberg@wcupa.edu
Education: M.A., Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Interests: General Education Writing; Composition and Rhetoric; Student Teaching Supervision; British Literature (Poetry); Creative Writing (Poetry); Film; Teaching Writing about Popular Culture; Business Writing

Kuebrich, Ben

Kuebrich, Ben
Associate Professor
Main Hall 542 | BKuebrich@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., Syracuse University
Interests: Podcasting, Community Journalism, Rhetoric for Social Justice, Popular Education

L

Lalicker, William

Lalicker, William
Professor
Main Hall 534 | WLalicker@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., University of Washington
Interests: Basic Writing; Writing Program Administration; Composition Theory; Environmental Rhetoric; Transnational and Intercultural Rhetoric

M

MacPhee, Graham

MacPhee, Graham
Professor
Main 106 | GMacphee@wcupa.edu | 610-436-3091
Education: Ph.D., University of Sussex
Interests: 20th-Century British and Irish Literature and Culture; Modernism; Postcolonial Studies; National Identity and Decolonization; Walter Benjamin and Hannah Arendt; Philosophy and Culture after Kant

Mader, Rodney

Mader, Rodney
Professor
Main Hall 117 | RMader@wcupa.edu | 610-436-2822
Education: Ph.D., Temple University
Interests: 18th-Century American Culture; Print Culture; Book History; Feminisms; Queer Theories

McVeigh Trainor, Maureen

McVeigh Trainor, Maureen
Assistant Professor
Main Hall 412 | MMcveigh@wcupa.edu
Education: M.F.A., Rosemont College; M.A.West Chester University of Pennsylvania
Interests: Creative Writing; Fiction Writing; James Joyce, especially Dubliners; Utilizing Creative Writing and Composition Techniques in Both Classrooms

Mrkich, Shannon

Mrkich, Shannon
Professor; Director of First Year Experience
Main Hall 510 | SMrkich@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., Temple University
Interests: First Year Experience; Distance Education and Pedagogy; Student Engagement; Writing Assessment and Dictated Commentary; Post-apocalyptic and Dystopian Literature.

N

Navitsky, Joseph

Navitsky, Joseph
Professor
Main Hall 114 | JNavitsky@wcupa.edu | 610-436-1035
Education: Ph.D., Boston University
Interests: Shakespeare, Early Modern Literature, and Shakespeare in American and Canadian culture and education

Neary, Dyan

Neary, Dyan
Assistant Professor
Main Hall 523 | DNeary@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., Florida State University
Interests: Literary Journalism; Creative Nonfiction; Investigative Reporting; Prisons and Mass Incarceration; Prison Education and Community Literacy; Environmental and Public Health; Documentary Film; Composition Studies

Nessly, William

Nessly, William
Associate Professor
Main Hall 550 | WNessly@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Interests: 20th- and 21st-Century U.S. Literature; Asian American and Multi-Ethnic U.S. Literature; Transnational American Studies; Postcolonial Theory; U.S. and Japanese Imperialism; Narrative Theory

P

Panagiotidou, Maria-Eirini

Panagiotidou, Maria-Eirini
Associate Professor; Linguistics Program Coordinator
Main Hall 500 | MPanagiotidou@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., The University of Nottingham
Interests: Literary Linguistics; Cognitive Poetics; Sociolinguistics; Intertextuality; Ekphrasis; Iconicity

Patriarca, Ashley

Patriarca, Ashley
Associate Professor
Main Hall 506 | APatriarca@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Interests: International Business Writing; Crisis Communication; Organizational Use of Social Media; Risk Communication; Grant Writing

Pearson, Nancy

Pearson, Nancy
Assistant Professor
Main Hall 502 | NPearson@wcupa.edu
Education: MFA Poetry, George Mason University; MFA Nonfiction, University of Houston
Interests: Poetry; Memoir; Creative Nonfiction; Disability & Queer Theory

Perry, Merry G.

Perry, Merry G.
Associate Professor
Main Hall 511 | MPerry@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., University of South Florida
Interests: The Study and Teaching of Popular Culture; Cultural Studies in Rhetoric & Composition and Literature; Feminist Theory and Pedagogy; Masculinities and Men's Studies; Early Modern Drama, especially Christopher Marlowe

Pollard, Cherise

Pollard, Cherise
Professor
Main Hall 529 | CPollard@wcupa.edu | 610-436-2959
Education: Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh
Interests: African American Literature; Poetry; Rhetoric and Composition; Literary Theory; Black Historical Fiction; Black Feminist Literary Criticism; Slave Narratives

R

Raclaw, Joshua

Raclaw, Joshua
Associate Professor
Main Hall 530 | JRaclaw@wcupa.edu
University of Colorado, Boulder
Interests: English Linguistics; Conversation Analysis; Sociolinguistics and Linguistic Anthropology; Language, Gesture, and the Body; Discourse-Functional Grammar; Pragmatics

Rademaekers, Justin

Rademaekers, Justin
Associate Professor; Graduate Coordinator; Writing Across the Curriculum Director
Main Hall 541 | JRademaekers@wcupa.edu | 610-436-2371
Education: Ph.D., Purdue University
Interests: Writing across the Curriculum/Writing in the Disciplines; Writing Program Development; Environmental Rhetoric/Ecocriticism; Postmodernism and Science Communication; Inter- and Trans-disciplinary Collaboration

Ray, Timothy D.

Ray, Timothy D.
Associate Professor
Main Hall 108 | TRay@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., Bowling Green State University
Interests: Computers and Writing; the Rhetoric of Technology and Digital Culture/Cyberculture; the Rhetoric of Counterculture and the Grateful Dead Subculture

Rodríguez, Yanira

Rodríguez, Yanira
Assistant Professor
Main Hall 101 | YRodriguez@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., Syracuse University
Interests: Third World Women and Hip Hop Feminisms; Community Literacy/Publishing; Intergenerational Social Movement Principles, Histories and Rhetorics; Media Representations; Community Accountable Scholarship; Organizer Ethos Formation in the Academy; Printmaking and other Multimodal Literacies; The Underground Press

S

Sancak-Marusa, Ilknur

Sancak-Marusa, Ilknur
Instructor; First Year Writing Director
Main Hall 100 | ISancak-Marusa@wcupa.edu
Education: M.A., Millersville University
Interests: Composition & Rhetoric; Basic Writing; Culturally Relevant Pedagogy

Sargent, Andrew

Sargent, Andrew
Professor
Main Hall 536 | ASargent@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles
Interests: African American Literature; American Literature; Literature and Culture of the Civil Rights Era; Film and Popular Culture; Race, Masculinity, and Criminal Justice

Jordan Schugar headshot

Schugar, Jordan
Professor
Main Hall 537 | JSchugar@wcupa.edu 
Education: Ph.D., University of Maryland, College Park
Interests: Digital Storytelling; Mobile Pedagogy; Wearable Technologies; Reading Comprehension (Digital and Traditional); Figurative Language; Learn-to-Code/Coding Literarcy; Emerging Technology

Shevlin, Eleanor F.

Shevlin, Eleanor F.
Professor
Main Hall 548 | EShevlin@wcupa.edu | 610-436-1628
Education: Ph.D., University of Maryland, College Park
Interests: British Literature and Culture in the 18th-Century; History of the Book/Print Culture Studies; Postcolonial Fiction; Genre Theory; the "Novel"; Fiction and Law; Technology and Digital Culture; the Institutional History of English as a Discipline

Sorisio, Carolyn

Sorisio, Carolyn
Professor
Main Hall 516 | CSorisio@wcupa.edu | 610-436-2892
Education: Ph.D., Temple University
Interests: 19th-Century U.S. Literature with an Emphasis on Race and Gender

T

Dan Taylor-Storm headshot

Taylor-Storm, Daniel
Instructor
Main Hall 411 | DTaylor@wcupa.edu 
Education: M.A., Columbia University
Interests: Fiction Writing; Creative-Nonfiction Writing; Popular Culture; Film Studies; Young Adult Literature

Tischio, Victoria

Tischio, Victoria
Professor
Main Hall 131 | VTischio@wcupa.edu | 610-436-1055
Education: Ph.D., University at Albany, State University of New York
Interests: Rhetoric and Composition; Critical Theory and Pedagogy; Service Learning; Popular Culture Representations of Schooling; Writing Program, Writing Center, Departmental, and University Administration Theory and Practice; Study abroad

V

 Vanfosson, Jason.

Vanfosson, Jason.
Assistant Professor
Main Hall 519 | jVanfosson@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., Western Michigan University
Interests: Children’s and Young Adult Literature and Culture; Comics Studies; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Road Literature

Vealey, Kyle P.

Vealey, Kyle P.
Assistant Professor
Main Hall 530 | KVealey@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., Purdue University
Interests: Technical Communication; Rhetoric of Science; Public Rhetoric; Community and Civic Engagement; New Media Writing; Visual Rhetoric; Rhetorical Theory and History

Verderame, Carla

Verderame, Carla
Professor
Main Hall 501 | CVerderame@wcupa.edu | 610-436-0013
Education: Ph.D., University of Michigan
Interests: Native Literature; Women Writers of the American South; Young Adult Literature; Literature Pedagogy; Literature of the Holocaust

Vilceus, Sophia S.

Vilceus, Sophia S.
Assistant Professor
Main Hall 104 | svilceus@wcupa.edu
Education: PhD, University of Delaware (in progress)
Interests: Critical Pedagogy; Culturally Relevant Pedagogies; Black Studies; First-Year Writing; Memoir Writing; Educating the Marginalized 

 

W

 Walters, Kuhio

Walters, Kuhio
Associate Professor
Main Hall 509 | KWalters@wcupa.edu | 610-436-2467
Education: Ph.D., University of New Hampshire
Interests: Composition and Visual Rhetoric; the Photograph as an Aspect of Literacy; theories and Histories of Photography; Veterans Studies

Wanko, Cheryl L.

Wanko, Cheryl L.
Professor
Main Hall 503 | CWanko@wcupa.edu | 610-436-2126
Education: Ph.D., The Pennsylvania State University
Interests: Sustainability & English Studies; 18th-Century Literature and Popular Culture; Academic Advising; Community sustainability planning

Wood, Virginia

Wood, Virginia
Assistant Professor
Main Hall 528 | VWood@wcupa.edu
Education: Ph.D., University of North Texas
Interests: Fiction, Creative Nonfiction, Multi-ethnic literature

Woodlief, Jamie

Woodlief, Jamie
Assistant Professor; Academic Success Program Coordinator
Main Hall 535 | KWoodlief@wcupa.edu
Education: M.A., West Chester University of Pennsylvania
Interests: Developmental Composition and Rhetoric; Pop Culture Studies; Young Adult Literature

 

Back to top of page.