View Text Only Version



Contact Chemistry  


750 South Church St.
West Chester, PA 19383-2115

Phone: 610-436-2631
Fax: 610-436-2890

News & Headlines

Best Poster Award - ACS YCC 2018

Bret Unger was awarded the Best Undergraduate Poster Prize and the Drexel University Best Inorganic Poster Prize at the ACS Younger Chemists Committee Poster Session (ACS YCC 2018) at Temple University for work titled "Metal Assisted Catalytic Etching (MACE) of Silicon: Which Way is Up?" His co-authors were Shannon Knight, Teresa Lee, Dr. Shawn Pfeil and Prof. KW Kolasinski.

Best Poster Award - PSST 2018

Shannon Knight (B.S. and B.S.Ed. 2017) was awarded the Best Poster Prize at the Porous Semiconductor Science and Technology 2018 Conference (PSST 2018) in La Grande Motte, France for work titled "Crystallographically defined silicon macropore membranes." Her co-authors were Bret Unger and Prof. KW Kolasinski.

The National Institute of Justice

Joshi research group publishes the first Library of Microcrystalline Tests for Novel Psychoactive Substances as a product of a research grant awarded by the National Institute of Justice.

Philadelphia Section Award

Left to right: Melissa B. Cichowicz, Deborah Cook (Chair of the Philadelphia Section of the ACS), Kurt Kolasinski, and Elizabeth Wagoner (Chair-Elect)

Professor Kurt Kolasinski has been named the 2017 recipient of the Philadelphia Section Award presented by the Philadelphia Section of the American Chemical Society. This Award recognizes an individual "who, by conspicuous scientific achievement through research, has made important contributions to man's knowledge and thereby aided the public appreciation of the profession."

New Technical Director of the Center for Microanalysis & Imaging Research & Training (CMIRT)

Dr. Samantha Shumlas has been named the new Technical Director of the CMIRT.

Interactive Periodic Table of the Elements

We celebrated the installation and dedication of our Interactive Periodic Table of the Elements, Friday April 7th. Here's the list of the contents.

Joel M. Ressner Scholarship in Chemistry

New this year: Joel M. Ressner Scholarship in Chemistry & Joel M. Ressner Scholarship for Minority Students in Chemistry

The 2015 University Distinguished Research Award

Awarded to Dr. Felix Goodson, the award recognizes a faculty member who has made a significant contribution to the scholarship of a University community through the acquisition of external grants from peer-reviewed funding sources.

The 2015 Trustees' Achievement Award

Awarded to Dr. Kurt Kolasinski, the Trustees' Achievement Award recognizes distinguished scholarly and creative work by a current West Chester University faculty member: specific, original contributions to a discipline (as in a research study, monograph, scholarly paper, literary work, musical composition, or work of art), or a significant collective body of work.