Academic Department Internship Contacts

A

Accounting

Department Name: ACCOUNTING
Contact Person:
Name: Peter Oehlers. D.B.A.
email: poehlers@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 738-0562

 

Accounting Department
Accounting Internships

Anthropology and Sociology

Department Name: ANTHROPOLOGY AND SOCIOLOGY
Contact Person - Anthropolgy:
Name: Heather Wholey, Ph.D.
email: hwholey@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 436-2400

Contact Person - Sociology:
Name: Jackie Zalewski, Ph.D.
email: jzalewski@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 436-3529

 

Anthropology Department

Art + Design

Department Name: ART + DESIGN
Contact Person:
Name: Peggy Hill, M.F.A.
email: mhill@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 436-2755

 

Art + Design Department
Art + Design Internships

B

Biology

Department Name: BIOLOGY
Contact Person:
Name: Jack Waber, Ph.D.
email: jwaber@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 436-2319

 

Biology Deparment

C

Chemistry

Department Name: CHEMISTRY
Contact Person:
Name: Tim Starn, Ph.D.
email: tstarn@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 436-2684

 

Graduate Contact Person:
Name: Blaise Frost, Ph.D.
email: bfrost@wcupa.edu

 

Chemistry Department
Chemistry Internships

College of Education

College of Education
At this time, the College of Education departments do not offer formal internship programs (field experience and student teaching are part of departmental requirements - please contact individual departments for participation guidelines).

 

Dean’s Office Information:
phone: (610) 436-2321

 

College of Education Department

Communication Studies

Department Name: COMMUNICATION STUDIES
Contact Person:
Name: Edward Lordan, Ph.D.
email: elordan@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 436-2114

 

Communication Studies Department
Communication Studies Internships

Communication Sciences & Disorders

College of Health Sciences
Department Name: COMMUNICATION SCIENCES AND DISORDERS
phone: (610) 436-3401

 

Communication Sciences & Disorders Department
**At this time, the Department does not offer a formal undergraduate internship program.

Computer Science

Department Name: COMPUTER SCIENCE
Contact Person:
Name: Cheer-sun Yang, Ph.D.
email: cyang@wcupa.edu
phone: (610)738-0450

 

Computer Science Department
Computer Science Internships

Criminal Justice

Department Name: CRIMINAL JUSTICE
Undergraduate Contact Person:
Name: Jane Tucker, Ph.D.
email: jtucker@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 436-2638

 

Criminal Justice Department
Criminal Justice Practicum

E

Earth and Space Sciences

Department Name: EARTH AND SPACE SCIENCES
Contact Person:
Name: Martin Helmke, Ph.D.
email: MHelmke@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 436-3565

 

Earth & Space Sciences Department

Economics and Finance

Department Name: ECONOMICS AND FINANCE
Contact Person:
Name: Orhan Kara, Ph.D.
email: okara@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 436-3331

 

Economics and Finance Department
Economics and Finance Internships

English (Literatures & Writings)

Department Name: ENGLISH / LITERATURES AND WRITINGS
Contact Person:
Name: Eleanor Shevlin, Ph.D.
email: eshevlin@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 436-2745

 

English (Literatures & Writings) Department
English (Literatures & Writings) Internships

English (Business & Technical Writing)

Department Name: ENGLISH / BUSINESS AND TECHNICAL WRITING (BTW)
Contact Person:
Name: Ashley Patriarca, Ph.D.
email: apatriarca@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 436-2822

 

English (Technical Writing) Department
English (Technical Writing) Department

G

Geography and Planning

Department Name: GEOGRAPHY AND PLANNING

 

FOCUS: PLANNING
Undergraduate Contact Person:
Name: Dottie Ives Dewey, Ph.D.
email: divesdewey@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 436-2746

 

FOCUS: BUSINESS GIS
Undergraduate Contact Person:
Name: Martin Katirai, Ph.D.
email: mkatirai@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 436-2393

 

FOCUS: GIS
Undergraduate Contact Person:
Name: Gary Coutu, Ph.D.
email: gcoutu@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 738-0522

 

FOCUS: ENVIRONMENTAL CONSERVATION
Undergraduate Contact Person:
Name: Joy Fritschle, Ph.D.
email: jfritischle@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 436-3396

 

Graduate Contact Person:
Name: Martin Katirai, Ph.D.
email: mkatirai@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 436-2393

 

Geography and Planning Department
Geography and Planning Internships

H

Health

Department Name: HEALTH

 

FOCUS: ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH
Contact Person:
Name: Lorenzo Cena, Ph.D.
email: lcena@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 436-2623

 

Environmental Health Department
Environmental Health Internships
Environmental Health Internship Requirements

 

FOCUS: HEALTH PROMOTION
Contact Person:
Name: Sharon DeJoy
email: sdejoy@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 436-3531

 

Health Promotion Department

 

FOCUS: RESPIRATORY CARE
Contact Person:
Name: Brian Kellar, M.S., M.Ed., RRT-NPS, RPFT
email: kellarb@mlhs.org
phone: (484) 337-3347

 

Respiratory Care Department

History (American Studies)

Department Name: HISTORY (and AMERICAN STUDIES)
Contact Person:
Name: Charles Hardy, Ph.D.
email: chardy@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 436-3329

 

History Department
History Internships

K

Kinesiology

Department Name: KINESIOLOGY

 

Kinesiology Department

 

Undergraduate Student Teaching Contact Person:
Name: Frances E. Cleland, P.E.D.
email: fcleland@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 436-2145

 

Undergraduate Exercise Science Contact Person:
Name: Melissa A. Whidden, Ph.D.
email: mwhidden@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 436-2935

 

Graduate Contact Person: MPA with Graduate Certificate in Sport Management and Athletics
Name: Eve Atkinson, D.Ed.
email: eatkinson@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 436-2314
Important information about the educational debt, earnings, and completion rates of students who attended the Certificate in Sport Management and Athletics program.

 

Graduate Contact Person: MS in Exercise and Sports Physiology
Name: David Stearne, Ph.D.
email: dstearne@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 436-2347

 

L

Languages and Cultures

Department Name: LANGUAGES AND CULTURES
Contact Person:
Name: Andrea Varricchio, Ph.D.
email: avarricchio@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 436-2700

 

Graduate Contact Person: (French or Spanish)
Name: Maria Van Liew, Ph.D.
email: mvanliew@wcupa.edu

 

Languages and Cultures Department
Languages and Cultures Internships

Liberal Studies

Department Name: LIBERAL STUDIES PROGRAM
phone: (610) 436-1096

 

Liberal Studies Department
** At this time, the Liberal Studies Department does not offer a formal internship program (internships may be completed as part of minor with advisor permission and met eligibility requirements).

M

Management

Department Name: MANAGEMENT
Contact Person:
Name: Kathy Koval
email: kkoval@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 738-0433

 

Management Department
Management Internships

Marketing

Department Name: MARKETING
Contact Person:
Name: Kathy Koval
email: kkoval@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 738-0433

 

Marketing Department
Marketing Internships

Mathematics

Department Name: MATHEMATICS
Contact Person:
Name: Lisa Marano, Ph.D.
email: lmarano@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 738-0585

 

Graduate Contact Person: (Applied Statistics)
Name: Randall Rieger, Ph.D.
email: rrieger@wcupa.edu

 

Mathematics Department

N

Nursing

Department Name: NURSING
Nursing students engage in required clinical practices; there is no other formal internship program. Please contact the department with any questions.

 

Nursing Department

P

Pharmaceutical Product Development

Department Name: PHARMACEUTICAL PRODUCT DEVELOPMENT
Contact Person:
Name: Steve Zimniski, Ph.D.
email: szimniski@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 436-2978

 

Pharmaceutical Product Development Department
Pharmaceutical Product Development Department Internships

Philosophy

Department Name: PHILOSOPHY & RELIGIOUS STUDIES
Contact Person:
Name: Matthew Pierlott, Ph.D.
email: MPierlott@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 436-1004

 

Philosophy Department

Physics (Pre-Engineering)

Department Name: PHYSICS (PRE–ENGINEERING)
Contact Person:
Name: Anthony Nicastro, Ph.D.
email: anicastro@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 436-2540

 

Physics Department

Political Science

Department Name: POLITICAL SCIENCE
Contact Person:
Name: John Kennedy, Ph.D.
email: jkennedy@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 436-2701

 

Graduate Contact Person: (M.P.A)
Name: Jeffery Osgood, Ph.D.
email: josgood@wcupa.edu

 

Political Science Department
Political Science Interships

Professional Studies

Department Name: PROFESSIONAL STUDIES PROGRAM
phone: (610) 436-3548

 

Professional Studies Department
** At this time, the Professional Studies Department does not offer a formal internship program (internships may be completed as part of minor with advisor permission and met eligibility requirements).

Psychology

Department Name: PSYCHOLOGY
Contact Person:
Name: Sandra Kerr, Ph.D.
email: skerr@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 436-2549

 

Graduate Contact Person: (Clinical Psychology)
Name: Vanessa Johnson, Ph.D.
email: vjohnson@wcupa.edu

 

Psychology Department
Psychology Internships

S

School of Music: Music History And Literature

College of Visual and Performing Arts

 

Department Name: SCHOOL OF MUSIC
The School of Music does not currently offer credit for internship programs but strongly encourages students to engage in applied training through internship experiences. Students may search internship offerings through the WCU Career Development enter or on the SOM Website, and should speak with their Faculty advisor to assure that applied experience will best fit with the student’s career goals. Internships may be paid or unpaid. phone: (610) 436-2739

 

School of Music Department

School of Music: Music Theory And Composition

College of Visual and Performing Arts

 

Department Name: SCHOOL OF MUSIC
The School of Music does not currently offer credit for internship programs but strongly encourages students to engage in applied training through internship experiences. Students may search internship offerings through the WCU Career Development enter or on the SOM Website, and should speak with their Faculty advisor to assure that applied experience will best fit with the student’s career goals. Internships may be paid or unpaid. phone: (610) 436-2739

 

School of Music Department

Social Work

Department Name: SOCIAL WORK
BSW - Undergraduate Social Work Department Contact Person:
Name: Janet Bradley, M.S.S. - Main Campus
email: jbradley2@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 436-2801

 

Name: Anita R. Gooding, MSW, LCSW - Philadelphia Campus
email: agooding@wcupa.edu
phone: (267) 386-3015

 

Social Work Department
Social Work Practicum

 

MSW - Graduate Social Work Department Contact Person:
Name: Lisa Allen, M.S.W. - Main Campus, Director of Field Education
email: lallen@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 738-0351

 

Name: Theresa Sullivan, M.S.W. - Philadelphia Campus
email: tsullivan@wcupa.edu
phone: (267) 386-3017

 

Graduate School Social Work Department

Sports Medicine

Department Name: SPORTS MEDICINE
At this time, the Department of Sports Medicine does offer clinical experiences but does not offer a formal internship program.
phone: (610) 436-3293

 

Sports Medicine Department

T

Theatre and Dance

Department Name: THEATRE AND DANCE
Contact Person:
Name: Harvey Rovine, Ph.D.
email: hrovine@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 738-0529

 

Theatre and Dance Department

W

Women's & Gender Studies

Department Name: WOMEN'S & GENDER STUDIES
Contact Person:
Name: Lisa Ruchti, Ph.D.
email: lruchti@wcupa.edu
phone: (610) 436-2464

 

Women's & Gender Studies Department
Back to top of page.