Upsilon Pi Epsilon

Infographic on Upsilon Pi Epsilon

The Upsilon Pi Epsilon Association was founded at Texas A&M University in 1967 for students and faculty who exhibit superior scholastic and professional achievement in the computing science curriculum. It remains the only National Honor Society for the computing and information disciplines and is recognized as such by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and IEEE Computer Society.

In 1997, Upsilon Pi Epsilon was admitted as a member of the Association of College Honor Societies - the parent organization for all academic honor societies in North America. The West Chester University chapter of UPE was chartered in 2017 as the Rho chapter of the state of Pennsylvania to the Association by the Executive Council of Upsilon Pi Epsilon.

Students are invited to join the West Chester University Chapter of UPE based on outstanding achievement, high scholarship and character.



Formal invitations to join UPE will usually be sent in Fall of every academic year. Induction into the society will usually occur in the Spring semester.


Minimum Academic Requirements

Undergraduate students: 60 or more credits completed with an overall GPA greater than or equal to 3.5, and 15 or more Computer Science credits completed at WCU with a Computer Science GPA greater than or equal to 3.7.

Graduate students: 15 or more Computer Science credits completed at WCU with a Computer Science GPA greater than or equal to 3.7.

The following courses do not count: CST courses, CSW courses, CSC 110, CSC 115, CSC 300, CSC 400, CSC 490, CSC 499, CSC 512, CSC 516, CSC 610.

Graduating students may also purchase a UPE stole to be worn with commencement regalia. Go to the UPE website for UPE memorabilia. The ACM now provides free ACM student memberships to active members of UPE for one year, which includes subscriptions to Communications of the ACM, ACM's Digital Library, and more.



2020-2021 President: Alexandra Garibaldi

2020-2021 Faculty Advisor: Dr. Richard Burns

2019-2020 President: Matthew Meyerson

2020-2021 Inductees: Matthew Baldridge, James Pawlowski, Erik Michael, Sean Robert, Christopher Popeck, Jose Astudilo, Austin T. Noska, Julia Mowrey, Mitchell P. Griffith, Mudiyappa Soumya, Swetchha Shukla, Saleem Mohammed, Gopala Iyer Venkatesh, Naren Shridhar, Jongwook Kim

2019-2020 Inductees: Brandon Barker, Tristen Bono, Jake Eckert, Christopher Falco, Alexandra Garibaldi, Mahmoud Gudarzi, Chidambaram Krishnan, Alexander Kuhn, Jonathan Lawrence, Andrew Valenci

2018-2019 Inductees: Meznah Alsuwailem, Giuseppe Barretta, Scott Duffy, Alex Forte, Cameron Kearney, Kathryn Kerns, Bayard Leach, Colin Lesser, Gilbert Martinelli, Matthew Meyerson, Adam Pape, Panagiotis Sassaris, Zachary Schaefer, Evan Stilwell, Pragati Supakar, Patrick Thompson, Timothy Wilson

2017-2018 Inductees: Anthony Bias, Xi Chen, Marie Danenhower, Michael D'Angelo, Richard Hamburg, Larisa Hursh, Diego Jorge, Kashish Khare, Jon Kilgannon, Kevin Kindle, Jake Kuntz, Matthew Leinhauser, Shereen Assmi Fathima Majeeth, Steven Massaro, Nickolas Ricciuti, Nora Sorrell, Jacob Steckel, Brittney Walsh-Piwowarski



The faculty advisor for UPE is Dr. Richard Burns. Contact him for more information. Learn more about the national UPE organization.

Back to top of page.