View Text Only Version

Business & Public Management

Pre-Business Program

Contact Business & Public Management  

Business & Public Management

Dean's Office

Address: 
Business and Public Management Center 
Third Floor 
50 Sharpless Street 
West Chester, PA 19383

Email: 
CBPM@wcupa.edu

Phone: 
610-436-2930


Name: Dr. Evan Leach 
Position: Interim Dean 
Email: ELeach@wcupa.edu


Name: Dr. Lisa M. Calvano 
Position: Interim Associate Dean 
Email: LCalvano@wcupa.edu


Name: Dr. Lori Fuller 
Position: Faculty Associate to the Dean 
Email: LFuller@wcupa.edu


Name: Kathy Koval 
Position: Assistant Dean, Director of Business and Public Management Programs 
Email: KKoval@wcupa.edu


Name: Cindy Cheyney 
Position: Assistant Dean 
Email: CCheyney@wcupa.edu


Name: Laurie Christie 
Position: Administrative Assistant to the Dean 
Email: LChristie@wcupa.edu


Name: Danah Allen 
Position: Communications and Impact Coordinator 
Email: DAllen@wcupa.edu


Name: Julie Ferris 
Position: Receptionist 
Email: JFerris@wcupa.edu

Pre-Business Program

What Is the Pre-Business Program?

The Pre-Business program is designed as the entry point for freshmen and transfer students who wish to earn a Bachelor of Science (B.S.) degree in Accounting, Economics, Finance, Management, or Marketing.

After successful completion of the required courses, Pre-Business students may apply for admission to one of five separate degree programs: Accounting, Economics, Finance, Management, or Marketing. To be accepted into one of these majors, students must:

  1. Complete 45 credits with at least a 2.5 GPA
  2. Complete Principles of Macroeconomics, Principles of Microeconomics, Financial Accounting, College Algebra, Quantitative Business Analysis I, Principles of Management, and Principles of Marketing with a C or better.
  3. Pass Brief Calculus
  4. Pass the Excel Proficiency Exam

After acceptance into one of the business majors, students must maintain a 2.5 GPA to continue in the major. By maintaining these requirements, the program graduates students who continue to enhance the reputation of West Chester University's business programs.

How Do I Know Which Major I Want?

The Pre-Business program gives you time to make an informed choice. After completing eight business courses, you will be ready to select the major that is right for you. As a Pre-Business major, advisers in the departments of Accounting, Economics and Finance, Management, and Marketing will help guide your decision. If you have any questions about the five business majors, you may contact the chairperson of that department to discuss which major is best for you.

Back to top of page.