View Text Only Version

History

Eric Fournier

Contact History  

History

Address:
702 Wayne Hall
West Chester, PA 19382


Phone: 610-436-2201
Fax: 610-436-3069


Carole Marciano
Departmental Secretary
Office: 702 Wayne Hall
Phone: 610-436-2201
Fax: 610-436-3069
CMarciano@wcupa.edu


Dr. Robert Kodosky
Departmental Chairperson
Office: 704 Wayne Hall
Phone: 610-436-2288
Fax: 610-436-3069
RKodosky@wcupa.edu


Dr. Karin Gedge
Social Studies Coordinator
Office: 729 Wayne Hall
Phone: 610-436-2971
KGedge@wcupa.edu


Brenda Gaydosh
Acting Graduate Coordinator
Office: 721 Wayne Hall
Phone: 610-436-0734
BGaydosh@wcupa.edu


Jonathan Friedman
Director, Holocaust-Genocide Studies
Office: 723 Wayne Hall
Phone: 610-436-2972
JFriedman@wcupa.edu

Éric Fournier

  • Assistant Department Chair
  • Associate Professor of History
  • 715 Wayne
  • 610-436-2168
  • EFournier@wcupa.edu

Curriculum Vita

 

Courses Taught

  • HIS 101: History of Civilization I
  • HIS 300: Varieties of History
  • HIS 318: The Ancient World
  • HIS 319: Medieval Europe
  • HIS 398: Topics in European History
  • HIS 400: Seminar
  • HIS 500: Methods & Materials of Research In History
  • HIS 530: Problems In Medieval Civilization

About Me

Eric Fournier is the Graduate Coordinator in the Department of History. Born and raised in Québec, Canada, he completed his dissertation at the University of California, Santa Barbara on "Victor of Vita and the Vandal "Persecution": Interpreting Exile in Late Antiquity" in August 2008. Prior to his doctoral program at UCSB, Dr. Fournier completed his M.A. in ancient history and B.A. in classics and history, both at Université de Montréal (Canada). He has presented numerous papers at national conferences and published recent articles in the field of late antique history. Dr. Fournier presently works at preparing his dissertation for publication. His research explores claims of persecution in Late Antiquity, North African Christianity, the role of rhetoric in historiographical representations of "reality", Imperial/Royal courts and residences of the late antique and medieval world, interactions between Church and "state" in the late Roman world.

He is a hockey fan and was an alpine skiing instructor for ten years.

Read more Faculty Profiles