April 5, 2023

WCU’s 1871 Awards Celebrate 61 Exceptional Students

Image alt

This year, 61 West Chester University students have been recognized with the 1871 Awards. Established in 2018, the 1871 Award represents the year in which West Chester University was founded. The awards will be presented Thursday, April 13, at 4 p.m. in Sykes Student Union Theater. 

Limited to an annual maximum of 71 students, the 1871 Award is a special honor. WCU juniors and seniors who have excelled both in the classroom and beyond are eligible for the 1871 Award, which rewards their accomplishments in academics, career readiness, leadership, and community engagement. A selection committee comprising faculty, staff, and one previous 1871 Award-winning student reviews applications, including recommendation letters written by WCU faculty and staff. 

Among the 2023 award winners are student organization and club officers; recipients of multiple scholarships; inductees into many honor societies; student athletes, tutors, peer mentors, orientation leaders, and resident assistants; and students who have volunteered extensively locally, regionally, and nationally.

These juniors are 1871 Award winners:

Juniors: Lindsay Allison, Jessica Aniloff, Abigail Boquist, Olivia Christina Carzo, Owen Cutler, Winter Elvin, Grace Gilmore, Victoria Grace, Lauren Kozicki, Kaitlyn Marnien, Joe McSweeney, Courtney Medwin, Jessica Mitchell, Sadie Patterson, Dana Pratt, Andrew Rubas, Damaris Silva-Lopez, Cecilia Tabor, and Journey Washington.

These seniors are 1871 Award winners:

Jalyss Lyann Agosto, Lauren Shae Beachy, Sara Bendrihem, Jadyn Branch, India Cannon, Anna Carroll, Nicole Caruso, Joetta Lynn Casey, Sarah Renee Chambers, Sharon Gia Chen, Kamryn Davis, Tiara DeTommaso, Colleen Donnelly, Gianna Fazio, Joshua Filer, Nicole Fish, Katelyn Fowler, Patriece Halton, Julia Hood, Kelly Ann Johnson, Ananiya Jones, Olivia Marquardt, Brenna McGowan, Morgan L. McKeon, Lauren Kate Michaels, Samantha Miller, Julia Mueller, Luke Mundorf, Jenna Pypiak, Katelyn Rittenbaugh, Vanessa Rodriguez Segovia, Lope Rojas III, Emma Rolecki, Morgan Sanderson, Jenna Schreiber, Josephine Szczyrbak, Samantha Tellez, Karrine Tucker, Kristina Westervelt, Zoe Elizabeth Yarosz, Rachel Yeung, and Anthony Zunno.

Visit the 1871 Award website for additional information.

Back to top of page.