1871 logo

Click below to view the 2021 virtual 1871 Awards ceremony:  

1871 Award Video Recipients


West Chester University 1871 Award

The 1871 Award was established in 2018 to recognize West Chester University juniors and seniors who are high-achieving in both the academic and co-curricular realms.  

Each year, up to 71 students will be honored for their outstanding accomplishments related to Academics, Leadership, Community Engagement, and Career Readiness.

Who is eligible to apply?

  • Undergraduate students who have completed at least 60 credits (30 of those must have been earned at WCU) at the time their application is submitted
  • Must have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.25 at the time their application is submitted
  • Must be in good standing with regard to personal and academic conduct
  • December graduates are welcome to apply and return for the spring award ceremony

On what criteria will students be evaluated?

  • Academics (GPA): 25%
  • Leadership: 25%
  • Community Engagement: 25%
  • Career Readiness: 25%

View the selection criteria rubric here

What materials will be requested for the application?

  • Personal information (e.g., name, contact information, major)
  • Responses to five short-answer questions
  • Resume
  • Ram Plan Co-curricular Transcript (recommended)
  • Two letters of recommendation: One must be from a WCU faculty or staff member, the second an individual of their choice (e.g., supervisor, mentor, advisor). WCU students should not write recommendation letters for their peers unless they directly supervise another student. These letters should be submitted to the student who will upload them to the application.
  • View the 1871 Award application
  • Click here to complete the application

Who will evaluate the applicants?

Applications will be evaluated by a committee of WCU faculty and staff, as well as one student, representing the following areas:


  • Student Affairs senior leader (chair)
  • College of Arts & Humanities
  • College of Health Sciences
  • College of Business & Public Management
  • College of the Sciences & Mathematics
  • College of Education & Social Work
  • Division of Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion
  • Division of Student Affairs
  • Division of University Advancement & External Affairs
  • School of Music
  • Student 
  • University College

How will award recipients be honored?

  • 1871 Award honorees will be recognized at a spring award ceremony that will be attended by WCU senior leadership.
  • They will receive a certificate and a special “1871 Award” pin.
  • They will receive a special designation next to their name within the commencement program.
  • Their names will also be published and archived on the WCU website.

What is the timeline for this process?

  • October 5, 2023: Application opens
  • November 5, 2023: Deadline to apply
  • December: Selections made
  • January: Applicants notified
  • April 4, 2024:  Recipients honored at an award ceremony 

 List of Honorees

2023 list of honorees

Jalyss Lyann Agosto
Lindsay Allison
Jessica Aniloff
Lauren Shae Beachy
Sara Bendrihem
Abigail Boquist
Jadyn Branch
India Cannon
Anna Carroll
Nicole Caruso
Olivia Christina Carzo
Joetta Lynn Casey
Sarah Renee Chambers
Sharon Gia Chen
Owen Cutler
Kamryn Davis
Tiara DeTommaso
Colleen Donnelly
Winter Elvin
Gianna Fazio



Joshua Filer
Nicole Fish
Katelyn Fowler
Grace Gilmore
Victoria Grace
Patriece Halton
Julia Hood
Kelly Ann Johnson
Ananiya Jones
Lauren Kozicki
Kaitlyn Marnien
Olivia Marquardt
Brenna McGowan
Morgan L. McKeon
Joe McSweeney
Courtney Medwin
Lauren Kate Michaels
Samantha Miller
Jessica Mitchell
Julia Mueller
Luke Mundorf


Sadie Patterson
Dana Pratt
Jenna Pypiak
Katelyn Rittenbaugh
Vanessa Rodriguez Segovia
Lope Rojas III
Emma Rolecki
Andrew Rubas
Morgan Sanderson
Jenna Schreiber
Damaris Silva-Lopez
Josephine Szczyrbak
Cecilia Tabor
Samantha Tellez
Karrine Tucker
Journey Washington
Kristina Westervelt
Zoe Elizabeth Yarosz
Rachel Yeung
Anthony Zunno


2019 Honorees



2020 Honorees



2021 Honorees



2022 Honorees