View Text Only Version

Business & Public Management

Dr. Sami Abdel-Salam

Contact Business & Public Management  

Business & Public Management

Dean's Office

Address: 
Business and Public Management Center 
Third Floor 
50 Sharpless Street 
West Chester, PA 19383

Email: 
CBPM@wcupa.edu

Phone: 
610-436-2930


Name: Dr. Evan Leach 
Position: Interim Dean 
Email: ELeach@wcupa.edu


Name: Dr. Lisa M. Calvano 
Position: Interim Associate Dean 
Email: LCalvano@wcupa.edu


Name: Dr. Lori Fuller 
Position: Faculty Associate to the Dean 
Email: LFuller@wcupa.edu


Name: Kathy Koval 
Position: Assistant Dean, Director of Business and Public Management Programs 
Email: KKoval@wcupa.edu


Name: Cindy Cheyney 
Position: Assistant Dean 
Email: CCheyney@wcupa.edu


Name: Laurie Christie 
Position: Administrative Assistant to the Dean 
Email: LChristie@wcupa.edu


Name: Danah Allen 
Position: Communications and Impact Coordinator 
Email: DAllen@wcupa.edu


Name: Julie Ferris 
Position: Receptionist 
Email: JFerris@wcupa.edu

Dr. Sami Abdel-Salam

Biography

Before joining the Department of Criminal Justice at West Chester University, Dr. Abdel-Salam worked as a Senior Research Associate for the Center for Drug and Alcohol Studies at the University of Delaware.  At the Center, he was involved in a national research cooperative funded by the National Institute on Drug Abuse to improve the implementation of evidence-based practices of substance abuse treatment in prison-based and community correctional settings.  From this research, he has worked directly with state correctional and community treatment agencies in efforts to improve the continuum of care received by offenders.  Additionally, Dr. Abdel-Salam has conducted research on adolescent substance abuse and treatment.  He has authored several articles in journals, such as Substance Use & Misuse, Journal of Drug Issues, Journal of Child and Adolescent Substance Abuse, and Journal of Substance Use and has presented his findings at national conferences, such as the American Society of Criminology, Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences, and the Academy and Health Conference on Correctional Health.  As well as conducting research, Dr. Abdel-Salam has spent the last 10 years teaching university students in subjects such as research methods, policing, and race and crime.  His research interests include  juvenile justice, drug and alcohol prevention, corrections, prisoner reentry, and community corrections.

Education

  • Ph.D., Temple University

Faculty Directory

Back to top of page.