View Text Only Version

Criminal Justice

Dr. Sami Abdel-Salam

Contact Criminal Justice  

Criminal Justice

Dean's Office

Address:
Business and Public Management Center
Third Floor
50 Sharpless Street
West Chester, PA 19383

Email:
CBPM@wcupa.edu

Phone:
610-436-2930


Name: Dr. Anthony "Tony" R. Wheeler
Position: Dean
Email: AWheeler@wcupa.edu


Name: Dr. Lori Fuller
Position: Associate Dean (Interim)
Email: LFuller@wcupa.edu


Name: Kathy Koval
Position: Assistant Dean, Director of Business and Public Management Programs
Email: KKoval@wcupa.edu


Name: Cindy Cheyney
Position: Assistant Dean
Email: CCheyney@wcupa.edu


Name: Laurie Christie
Position: Administrative Assistant to the Dean
Email: LChristie@wcupa.edu



Name: Paige Carey
Position: Receptionist
Email: PCarey@wcupa.edu

Dr. Sami Abdel-Salam

Biography

Before joining the Department of Criminal Justice at West Chester University, Dr. Abdel-Salam worked as a Senior Research Associate for the Center for Drug and Alcohol Studies at the University of Delaware. At the Center, he was involved in a national research cooperative funded by the National Institute on Drug Abuse to improve the implementation of evidence-based practices of substance abuse treatment in prison-based and community correctional settings. From this research, he has worked directly with state correctional and community treatment agencies in efforts to improve the continuum of care received by offenders. Dr. Abdel-Salam has spent the last 10 years teaching university students in subjects such as Research Methods, Policing in America, and Race and Crime. In addition to his time as a Senior Research Associate for the Center for Drug and Alcohol Studies at the University of Delaware, Dr. Abdel-Salam has conducted research on adolescent substance abuse and treatment. His research interests include: juvenile justice, drug and alcohol prevention, corrections, prisoner reentry, and community corrections. He has authored several articles in journals, such as Substance Use & Misuse, Journal of Drug Issues, Journal of Child and Adolescent Substance Abuse, and Journal of Substance Use and has presented his findings at national conferences, such as the American Society of Criminology, Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences, and the Academy and Health Conference on Correctional Health.

Education

  • Ph.D., Temple University
Faculty Directory