View Text Only Version

Criminal Justice

Dr. Mary Brewster

Contact Criminal Justice  

Criminal Justice

Dean's Office

Address:
Business and Public Management Center
Third Floor
50 Sharpless Street
West Chester, PA 19383

Email:
CBPM@wcupa.edu

Phone:
610-436-2930


Name: Dr. Lori Fuller
Position: Faculty Associate to the Dean
Email: LFuller@wcupa.edu


Name: Kathy Koval
Position: Assistant Dean, Director of Business and Public Management Programs
Email: KKoval@wcupa.edu


Name: Cindy Cheyney
Position: Assistant Dean
Email: CCheyney@wcupa.edu


Name: Laurie Christie
Position: Administrative Assistant to the Dean
Email: LChristie@wcupa.edu


Name: Danah Allen
Position: Communications and Impact Coordinator
Email: DAllen@wcupa.edu


Name: Paige Carey
Position: Receptionist
Email: PCarey@wcupa.edu

Dr. Mary Brewster

  • Title: Professor; Department Chair
  • Location: 508 BPM Center
  • Email: MBrewster@wcupa.edu
  • Phone: 610-436-2630

Biography

Before joining the faculty of West Chester University, Dr. Brewster taught at Hartwick College, the State University of New York-Morrisville, and Kutztown University. She has taught in the graduate and undergraduate criminal justice programs since 1993, and served as the coordinator of the graduate criminal justice program at WCU for two decades. Dr. Brewster has also served as a trainer for the National Organization for Victim Assistance (NOVA).

Dr. Brewster has authored several articles in journals such as Criminal Justice Policy Review, Journal of Criminal Justice Education, Journal of Drug Issues, Journal of Family Violence, Victims and Offenders, Violence and Victims, Prison Journal, and Women and Criminal Justice. Additionally, she has authored dozens of book reviews, research reviews, encyclopedia entries, and book chapters, and has been a contributing editor of Criminal Justice Research Review, associate editor of a criminal justice encyclopedia, editor of the book Stalking: Psychology, Risk Factors, Interventions, and Law, co-editor of two editions of Animal Cruelty: A Multidisciplinary Approach to Understanding, co-editor of Pennsylvania's Criminal Justice System, and a reviewer for several scholarly journals.

Dr. Brewster works with various community agencies, and has evaluated drug court, mental health court, alcohol prevention, community policing, and other programs in the region. She has served as Principal Investigator on a National Institute of Justice grant and has worked on numerous other grant-supported research projects. Her research interests include domestic violence and stalking, corrections, specialized courts, and drug and alcohol prevention.

Education

  • M.A., Fordham University
  • Ph.D. Rutgers University
Faculty Directory