View Text Only Version

Criminal Justice

Dr. Jane M. Tucker

Contact Criminal Justice  

Criminal Justice

Dean's Office

Address:
Business and Public Management Center
Third Floor
50 Sharpless Street
West Chester, PA 19383

Email:
CBPM@wcupa.edu

Phone:
610-436-2930


Name: Dr. Anthony "Tony" R. Wheeler
Position: Dean
Email: AWheeler@wcupa.edu


Name: Dr. Lori Fuller
Position: Associate Dean (Interim)
Email: LFuller@wcupa.edu


Name: Kathy Koval
Position: Assistant Dean, Director of Business and Public Management Programs
Email: KKoval@wcupa.edu


Name: Cindy Cheyney
Position: Assistant Dean
Email: CCheyney@wcupa.edu


Name: Laurie Christie
Position: Administrative Assistant to the Dean
Email: LChristie@wcupa.edu



Name: Paige Carey
Position: Receptionist
Email: PCarey@wcupa.edu

Dr. Jane M. Tucker

  • Title: Associate Professor; Graduate Coordinator / Practicum Coordinator
  • Location: 513 BPM Center
  • Email: JTucker@wcupa.edu
  • Phone: 610-436-2638

Biography

Dr. Tucker joined the West Chester University Criminal Justice Department in 2011. Prior to joining the faculty WCU, Dr. Tucker taught criminal justice courses at both Kutztown University and at Temple University. Her practical criminal justice experience includes several years in private security followed by approximately 14 years of service as a law enforcement officer in both municipal and university settings. The majority of those years were spent as a police officer with the Lower Merion Township Police Department in Pennsylvania. While employed by Lower Merion Township Police Department, Dr. Tucker was trained in wide variety of specialty law enforcement topics and skills, including crime prevention, community policing, domestic violence, child abuse investigation, fatal traffic accident investigation, and hate crimes investigation. Additionally, Dr. Tucker served as a platoon investigator and a field training officer (FTO). She is currently a faculty co-advisor for the West Chester University Criminal Justice Club, Sigma Tau Omicron and the faculty advisor for the Criminal Justice Honor Society (Nu Beta). In addition, she serves as the department Practicum Coordinator and Graduate Coordinator. Dr. Tucker's dissertation concerned the factors that influence officer willingness to use stress intervention services. She continues to be involved in research on police stress issues and serves on a Critical Incident Stress Management (CISM) team as a peer provider. Her research interests are: police stress, police organizational behavior, criminal justice polity, discretion, and victimization.

Education

  • M.S., West Chester University
  • Ph.D., Temple University
Faculty Directory