View Text Only Version

Business & Public Management

Dr. Jane M. Tucker

Contact Business & Public Management  

Business & Public Management

Dean's Office

Address: 
Business and Public Management Center 
Third Floor 
50 Sharpless Street 
West Chester, PA 19383

Email: 
CBPM@wcupa.edu

Phone: 
610-436-2930


Name: Dr. Evan Leach 
Position: Interim Dean 
Email: ELeach@wcupa.edu


Name: Dr. Lisa M. Calvano 
Position: Interim Associate Dean 
Email: LCalvano@wcupa.edu


Name: Dr. Lori Fuller 
Position: Faculty Associate to the Dean 
Email: LFuller@wcupa.edu


Name: Kathy Koval 
Position: Assistant Dean, Director of Business and Public Management Programs 
Email: KKoval@wcupa.edu


Name: Cindy Cheyney 
Position: Assistant Dean 
Email: CCheyney@wcupa.edu


Name: Laurie Christie 
Position: Administrative Assistant to the Dean 
Email: LChristie@wcupa.edu


Name: Danah Allen 
Position: Communications and Impact Coordinator 
Email: DAllen@wcupa.edu


Name: Julie Ferris 
Position: Receptionist 
Email: JFerris@wcupa.edu

Dr. Jane M. Tucker

  • Title: Associate Professor
  • Location: 513 BPM Center
  • Email: JTucker@wcupa.edu
  • Phone: 610-436-2638

Biography

Dr. Tucker joined the West Chester University Criminal Justice Department in 2011. Prior to joining the faculty WCU, Dr. Tucker taught criminal justice courses at both Kutztown University and at Temple University. Her practical criminal justice experience includes several years in private security followed by approximately 14 years of service as a law enforcement officer in both municipal and university settings. The majority of those years were spent as a police officer with the Lower Merion Township Police Department in Pennsylvania, where she was trained in wide variety of specialty law enforcement topics and skills, including crime prevention, community policing, domestic violence, child abuse investigation, fatal traffic accident investigation, and hate crimes investigation. Additionally, Dr. Tucker served as a platoon investigator and a field training officer (FTO).

Dr. Tucker’s dissertation concerned the factors that influence officer willingness to use stress intervention services. She continues to be involved in research on police stress issues and serves on a Critical Incident Stress Management (CISM) team as a peer provider. Dr. Tucker has been published in the International Journal of Emergency Mental Health and Human Reslience, Victims and Offenders, and the Journal of Criminal Justice Education. Additionally, she has authored a number of encyclopedia entries and a book chapter, and has served as a reviewer for Sage Publications, the Journal of Criminal Justice, Police Quarterly, and the Journal of Police and Criminal Psychology. Her research interests are police stress, police organizational behavior, criminal justice policy, discretion, and victimization.

Dr. Tucker is currently a faculty advisor to the Criminal Justice Honor Society (Alpha Phi Sigma), Nu Beta Chapter and runs a group called TEAMfit. She has also served as both Practicum Coordinator and Graduate Coordinator for the Criminal Justice Department.

Education

  • M.S., West Chester University
  • Ph.D., Temple University

Faculty Directory

Back to top of page.