View Text Only Version

Business & Public Management

Dr. Allison H. Turner

Contact Business & Public Management  

Business & Public Management

Dean's Office

Address: 
Business and Public Management Center 
Third Floor 
50 Sharpless Street 
West Chester, PA 19383

Email: 
CBPM@wcupa.edu

Phone: 
610-436-2930


Name: Dr. Evan Leach 
Position: Interim Dean 
Email: ELeach@wcupa.edu


Name: Dr. Lisa M. Calvano 
Position: Interim Associate Dean 
Email: LCalvano@wcupa.edu


Name: Dr. Lori Fuller 
Position: Faculty Associate to the Dean 
Email: LFuller@wcupa.edu


Name: Kathy Koval 
Position: Assistant Dean, Director of Business and Public Management Programs 
Email: KKoval@wcupa.edu


Name: Cindy Cheyney 
Position: Assistant Dean 
Email: CCheyney@wcupa.edu


Name: Laurie Christie 
Position: Administrative Assistant to the Dean 
Email: LChristie@wcupa.edu


Name: Danah Allen 
Position: Communications and Impact Coordinator 
Email: DAllen@wcupa.edu


Name: Julie Ferris 
Position: Receptionist 
Email: JFerris@wcupa.edu

Dr. Allison H. Turner

  • Title: Master of Public Administration Program Director & Associate Professor; Associate Director, Center for Social and Economic Policy Research
  • Location: 557 BPM Center
  • Email: ATurner@wcupa.edu
  • LinkedIn: Dr. Allison H. Turner Profile
  • Phone: 610-436-2286

Biography

Allison H. Turner is an Associate Professor in the Department of Public Policy and Administration at West Chester University, teaching in the Master of Public Administration program. Her professional experience encompasses various roles within the nonprofit sector, including program development and evaluation, grant writing, and community economic development. Her research addresses the role of information literacy in graduate public administration curriculums, the role of nonprofit organizations in contemporary political economies, the development and implementation of strategic management in the nonprofit sector, and brownfields redevelopment and environmental policy.

Education

  • B.A., Centre College, Danville, KY, 2001
  • M.P.A., University of Louisville, 2005
  • Ph.D., University of Louisville, 2010

Publications/Activities

Professional Service

  • Sustainability Advisory Council
  • Judiciary Board
  • CAPC Writing Emphasis Sub-committee
  • MPA National Association of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration (NASPAA)
  • Accreditation Committee
  • Political Science Department, Advising Committee

Work History

  • Department of Public Policy and Affairs, West Chester University, West Chester, PA
  • Center for Social and Economic Policy Research, West Chester University, West Chester, PA
  • Center for Environmental Policy and Management, University of Louisville, Louisville, KY
  • EPA Environmental Finance Center Network, University of Louisville, Louisville, KY
  • Just Solutions Mediation Services, Louisville, KY
  • Center for Nonprofit Excellence, Louisville, KY
  • Labor Management Center, University of Louisville, Louisville, KY

Classes Regularly Taught

  • PPA 502 Policy Analysis & Program Evaluation
  • PPA 505 Public Sector Organization Theory & Behavior
  • PPA 512 Communications for Public Administrators
  • PPA 530 Topics in Nonprofit Administration
  • PPA 531 Foundations in Nonprofit Administration
  • PPA 532 Grant Writing
  • PPA 534 Nonprofit Program Evaluation & Assessment
  • PPA 551 Staffing & Development

Faculty Directory

Back to top of page.