Awards and Grants for Student-Athletes

This information for student athletes is divided into two parts. Non-monetary recognition of student athletes and their academic performance and opportunities to apply for financial grants and aid to complete school or continue with graduate work. There are also PSAC Recognition awards. In addition, the NCAA gives recognition to schools, teams and individuals for their outstanding work. A list of possible awards is provided.

Non-monetary academic awards

WCU Athletic Director Academic Honor Roll recipients - student-athlete must earn a minimum of 3.0 GPA

PSAC Academic Honor Roll recipients - student-athlete must earn a minimum of 3.20 GPA

D-II Association of Athletic Directors Academic Honor Roll recipients - student-athlete must earn a minimum of 3.5 GPA

2011-12 Capital One Academic All-America ® and Capital One Academic All-America ® Hall of Fame

Nomination & Voting Process

CoSIDA began this program in the 1950's, and since then, has honored thousands of deserving student-athletes from numerous sports and across all divisions with these elite Capital One Academic All-America ® scholar-athlete honors. Currently, CoSIDA honors Academic All-Americans in 12 sports. Student-athletes are nominated by current CoSIDA members. Voting for Academic All-District (First, Second and possible Third Team members are named) is done by current CoSIDA members. Those who obtain First Team All-District status move onto the national Academic All-America ballot; these national awards (First Team, Second Team, Third Team for each sport category) is voted upon by Academic All-America Committee members and current CoSIDA Board of Directors.

Capital One Academic All-American Team

Financial grants and aid

NCAA Scholarships

NCAA Degree-Completion Scholarships (undergraduate, post-athletic eligibility)

PSAC Recognition Awards

Pete Nevins Scholar-Athletes of the Year

The PSAC Pete Nevins Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards are presented to the top student-athletes who have achieved at least a 3.50 cumulative grade point average while competing at an outstanding athletic level. Student-athletes must have been recognized as a conference Fall, Winter or Spring Top Ten Award Winner to be eligible for the honor. The Scholar-Athletes of the Year are chosen by the league's sports information directors and were renamed in 2007 to honor East Stroudsburg's long-time sports information director, Pete Nevins, who passed away earlier that year. Nevins held his position at ESU for 33 years and it is estimated that he wrote articles on more than 12,000 ESU events that covered more than 5,000 student-athletes.

PSAC Top 10 Awards

The Top Ten Awards, selected by the PSAC's sports information directors, recognize student-athletes who distinguish themselves in the classroom, as well as in the arena of competition. The conference designates Top Ten Award winners after each of the sports seasons: fall, winter and spring.

To be a candidate for the Top Ten Awards, a student-athlete must have achieved a minimum of a 3.50 cumulative grade point average (as of Fall 2009 awards) and must be a starter or key reserve with legitimate athletic credentials.

PSAC Sportsmanship Award

The PSAC Sportsmanship Award was initiated in the 2008-09 academic year and is given annually to one male and one female student-athlete that best exemplifies the spirit of sportsmanship and who has demonstrated the values of respect and integrity through a specific action ideally directed toward an opponent. Nominees must also have represented his/her institution in a positive way during competition and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of competition by fostering a good public image. The PSAC Sportsmanship Award was implemented by the PSAC Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC). Nominees are submitted by PSAC institutions and voted on by the SAAC.

NCAA Recognition Awards


Each Division II school and conference is eligible to submit its best game environment initiative, activity and/or event. Submissions must be received no later than Friday, October 14, 2011.

The game environment activity or event must be posted under the Game Environment Ideas that Work page. Activities must have occurred between August 2010 and September 2011. The selection committee will announce 23 conference winners, the one independent winner and the national winner by November 19, 2011. The national winner will be recognized at the 2012 NCAA Convention in Indianapolis, Indiana in January 2012.


The NCAA will recognize and award participation in the Game Environment initiative at three levels.

This level recognizes a school's effort in a banner proclaiming "We Chose a Positive Game Environment." Each institution will receive this Division II Game Environment banner for display after the President/Chancellor and Director of Athletics acknowledge that they have considered and discussed the self-assessment tool.

As with the annual NCAA Community Engagement conference award, the NCAA will recognize a conference Game Environment initiative award winner each year. Evaluation to determine the winner will be based on conference submissions to the "Ideas That Work" page of the DII Game Environment website. Please read the conference award criteria.

Division II Game Environment conference award winners (and one independent) will be eligible to receive the "National Game Environment Award of Excellence." This award will be presented annually at the NCAA Convention.

View complete list of DII Member Institutions who have completed the self-assessment.

View the list of schools that have signed the Division II Pledge for fostering respectful, family-friendly and positive game environments.

NCAA Honors Celebration

The National Collegiate Athletic Association's Honors Celebration, which is held annually at the Association's January Convention, is divided into several phases:

The Theodore Roosevelt Award

The highest honor the Association may confer on an individual, is presented each year to a distinguished citizen of national reputation and outstanding accomplishment who was a varsity letter-winner in college.

Today's Top VIII Awards

The Today's Top VIII Awards provide the Association with the opportunity to honor eight outstanding senior student-athletes of the preceding academic year. From 1973 through 1985, this award was known as the Today's Top V Award and from 1986 through 1994, it was known as the Today's Top VI Award.

Silver Anniversary Awards

Recognize up to six distinguished former student-athletes on their 25th anniversary of the end of their athletics eligibility.

Award of Valor

A special award that is not presented on an annual basis. Selection is based on heroic action occurring in the academic year preceding the NCAA Honors Celebration.

Inspiration Award

A special award that is not presented on an annual basis. Selection is based on inspirational action occurring before the NCAA Honors Celebration.

Other Awards

Back to top of page.