View Text Only Version

Applied Music

Undergraduate Program

Contact Applied Music  

Applied Music

Address: 
Swope Music Building 
817 S. High Street 
West Chester, PA 19383


School of Music 
Phone: 610-436-2739 
Fax: 610-436-2873 
Email: musicinfo@wcupa.edu


Dr. Christopher Hanning 
Dean (Interim) 
Phone: 610-430-4178 
Email: channing@wcupa.edu


Kaysey Davis 
Administrative Assistant to Dean 
Phone: 610-430-4177 
Email: kdavis4@wcupa.edu


Will Hillegeist, M.M. 
Business Manager 
Phone: 610-436-3484 
Email: whillegeist@wcupa.edu


Matthew Scott Miller 
Events Coordinator 
Phone: 610-436-2678 
Email: mmiller@wcupa.edu


Robert (Bob) Rust 
Recording Engineer/Video Technician 
Phone: 610-436-2937 
Email: rrust@wcupa.edu


Gerry Cousins 
Director, Acoustic Instrument Technical Services 
Phone: 610-436-2634 
Email: gcousins@wcupa.edu


Faculty Contact Information: 
Applied Music 
Music Education 
Music Theory, History and Composition

UNDERGRADUATE
PROGRAM

The West Chester University of Pennsylvania Wells School of Music's Applied Music Department offers a wide variety of performance degrees, including a Bachelor of Music in Performance and Master of Music in Performance. Performance majors will have the opportunity to build on their skills within their musical discipline while expanding their musicianship.

Performance majors have gone onto perform with major institutions such as The Philadelphia Orchestra, Metropolitan Opera Company, Waverly Consort, Stan Kenton Orchestra and others. Graduates have also gone onto further their musical education at institutions including: Curtis Institute of Music, Eastman School of Music, Indiana University, The Juilliard School and others.

BACHELOR OF MUSIC IN PERFORMANCE

The Bachelor of Music in Performance prepares students for a performing career as a soloist, accompanist, studio teacher, and as preparation for advanced degrees and performance. Students may select from concentrations in instrumental, keyboard, and vocal performance.

MINOR IN JAZZ STUDIES

The Minor in Jazz Studies   program is designed primarily for students currently enrolled in a music degree program. Students in other degree programs will be admitted if they qualify. Students must have the permission of both their advisor, the Chairperson of Applied Music Department, and Jazz Studies Coordinator.

Back to top of page.