View Text Only Version

Applied Music

Jon Gaarder

Contact Applied Music  

Applied Music

Address: 
Swope Music Building 
817 S. High Street 
West Chester, PA 19383


School of Music 
Phone: 610-436-2739 
Fax: 610-436-2873 
Email: musicinfo@wcupa.edu


Dr. Christopher Hanning 
Dean (Interim) 
Phone: 610-430-4178 
Email: channing@wcupa.edu


Kaysey Davis 
Administrative Assistant to Dean 
Phone: 610-430-4177 
Email: kdavis4@wcupa.edu


Will Hillegeist, M.M. 
Business Manager 
Phone: 610-436-3484 
Email: whillegeist@wcupa.edu


Matthew Scott Miller 
Events Coordinator 
Phone: 610-436-2678 
Email: mmiller@wcupa.edu


Robert (Bob) Rust 
Recording Engineer/Video Technician 
Phone: 610-436-2937 
Email: rrust@wcupa.edu


Gerry Cousins 
Director, Acoustic Instrument Technical Services 
Phone: 610-436-2634 
Email: gcousins@wcupa.edu


Faculty Contact Information: 
Applied Music 
Music Education 
Music Theory, History and Composition

JON
GAARDER

Jon Gaarder

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR, BASSOON

222, Swope Music Building
JGaarder@wcupa.edu


Education

  • M.M., New England Conservatory of Music
  • B.M., University of Wisconsin-Madison


Curriculum Vitae

Bassoonist Jon Gaarder received the Bachelor of Music in Music Education from the University of Wisconsin-Madison as a student of Richard Lottridge and the Master of Music in Performance from the New England Conservatory, where he studied with Sherman Walt, Principal bassoonist of the Boston Symphony Orchestra and Matthew Ruggiero. He continued his musical training in Canada at the Banff Centre School of Fine Arts. Mr. Gaarder is currently instructor of bassoon at the West Chester University. In addition, he is instructor of bassoon at the University of Delaware.

He was awarded the 2000 Delaware Individual Artist Grant for solo recital performance from the Delaware State Arts Council. His orchestral experience includes currently principal bassoon of the Pennsylvania Ballet and Opera Delaware, also as a member of both the Delaware Symphony Orchestra and the contemporary music ensemble Relache. He is also a substitute for the Philadelphia Orchestra, which has included a European Tour under the direction of Wolfgang Sawallisch.

Back to top of page.