Waiting Rooms

The Waiting Room feature allows you to control when a participant joins the meeting. As the meeting host, you can admit attendees one by one or hold all attendees in the waiting room and admit them all at once.

How to Enable A Waiting Room in Zoom

  1. Log into http://wcupa.zoom.us with your WCU credentials.
  2. From the left-hand sidebar, select Meetings. Then click the blue Schedule a New Meeting button.
  3. Enter the meeting details and scroll down to the Meeting Options section.
  4. In this area, click the Enable waiting room box to place your attendees in a virtual lobby until you're ready for them to enter the meeting. 

    The box marked "Enable waiting room" is checked on the Zoom meetings screen.

  5. Click Save when you're done.

Admit an Attendee into the Meeting

While in your Zoom meeting as the host:

  1. Click the Manage Participants panel at the bottom of your meeting screen (when you're not sharing your screen).

    A red box surrounds the Manage Participants list at the bottom of a Zoom meeting screen.

  2. Click Admit to have the attendee join the meeting.

The Manage Participants panel is open in Zoom, and there is one person in the list. An Admit button appears near their name so they can be admitted to the Zoom meeting.

Admit All Attendees into the Meeting

While in your Zoom meeting as the host:

  1. Click the Manage Participants panel at the bottom of your meeting screen (when you're not sharing your screen).

    A red box surrounds the Manage Participants list at the bottom of a Zoom meeting screen.

  2. Click Admit All to have all the attendees join the meeting.

The Manage Participants panel is open in a Zoom meeting. A list of people still in a Zoom waiting room is shown. An Admit All button appears above their names. The host can click that button to admit everyone to the meeting room.

Admit Attendees While Screen Sharing

While sharing your screen in Zoom:

  1. Hover your mouse up towards the top of your screen to bring down the meeting controls panel. 
  2. From that panel, click Manage Participants.

    A red box surrounds the Manage Participants panel in upper toggle menu when someone shares a screen in Zoom.
  3. This will bring up your list of participants including those already admitted to your meeting and those who are still in the waiting room. 
  4. To admit these participants, either click Admit next to each participant's name or Admit All to admit everyone.
Back to top of page.