View Text Only Version

Business & Public Management

Dr. Robert Derstine

Contact Business & Public Management  

Business & Public Management

Dean's Office

Address: 
Business and Public Management Center 
Third Floor 
50 Sharpless Street 
West Chester, PA 19383

Email: 
CBPM@wcupa.edu

Phone: 
610-436-2930


Name: Dr. Evan Leach 
Position: Interim Dean 
Email: ELeach@wcupa.edu


Name: Dr. Lisa M. Calvano 
Position: Interim Associate Dean 
Email: LCalvano@wcupa.edu


Name: Dr. Lori Fuller 
Position: Faculty Associate to the Dean 
Email: LFuller@wcupa.edu


Name: Kathy Koval 
Position: Assistant Dean, Director of Business and Public Management Programs 
Email: KKoval@wcupa.edu


Name: Cindy Cheyney 
Position: Assistant Dean 
Email: CCheyney@wcupa.edu


Name: Laurie Christie 
Position: Administrative Assistant to the Dean 
Email: LChristie@wcupa.edu


Name: Danah Allen 
Position: Communications and Impact Coordinator 
Email: DAllen@wcupa.edu


Name: Julie Ferris 
Position: Receptionist 
Email: JFerris@wcupa.edu

Dr. Robert Derstine

Biography

Dr. Robert Derstine is Professor in the Department of Accounting at West Chester University and earned his Ph.D. degree at the State University of New York at Buffalo. He has taught over 11,000 students during his academic teaching career and several thousand more as an instructor for a CPA Exam Review Course and a CFA Exam Review Course. Dr. Derstine has been recognized for his teaching accomplishments by receiving both the Villanova's University Lindback Outstanding Teacher Award and Villanova's School of Business's Dougherty Teaching Excellence Award. Dr. Derstine's teaching interests and research stream both emphasize moving student learning from the 'memorize and parrot it back on exam day' environment towards being 'adaptive problem solvers'. He has published an Accounting textbook and several cases. Dr. Derstine‚Äôs journal publications include Accounting Instructors' Report, American Journal of Business Education, Journal of Accountancy, Journal of Accounting Research, Mustang Journal of Accounting and Finance, New Accountant, Pennsylvania CPA Journal, and The CPA Journal.

Education and Professional Certifications

  • B.S.B.A., Drexel University
  • M.B.A., Drexel University
  • Ph.D., State University of New York at Buffalo, Accounting, Minor in Finance
  • CPA, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

Faculty Directory

Back to top of page.