View Text Only Version

Communication Studies


Contact Communication Studies  

Communication Studies

We hope you have found on our website the information you seek on courses, faculty, admissions, program requirements, and more. Should you have other questions or concerns, please feel free to drop by our department office:

Main Hall Room 512

Phone: 610-436-2500


L.Meghan Mahoney, Ph.D.

Meghan Peirce

Associate Professor

E-mail: Meghan Mahoney

Office: Main Hall 511
Phone: (610) 430-4414

Office Hours:

Fall 2017 M 8-9 am & 1-2 pm;  W 8-9 am; F 11 am - 1 pm

Elizabeth Munz, Ph.D.

Elizabeth Munz

Assistant Professor

E-mail: Elizabeth Munz

Office: Wayne 235

Office hours: MW - 9:30-10:45am; MWF - 12:00-12:50pm

Matthew R. Meier, Ph.D.

Matthew Meier

Assistant Professor & Graduate Coordinator

E-mail: Matthew R. Meier

Office: Main Hall 317
Phone: x6943

Office Hours: Fall 2017: MW noon-2PM, W 3PM-4PM

Timothy J. Brown, Ph.D.

Timothy J. Brown


E-mail: Timothy J. Brown

Office: Main Hall 512
Phone: (610) 436-2500

Office Hours: 

Anita Foeman, Ph.D.

Anita Foeman


E-mail: Anita Foeman

Office: Main Hall 508
Phone: (610) 436-2283

Office Hours: Mondays: 11am - noon & 2-3pm Wednesdays: 11am - noon & 2-3pm Fridays: 11am - noon & 2-3pm

Maxine Gesualdi, Ph.D.

Maxine Gesualdi

Assistant Professor

E-mail: Maxine Gesualdi

Office: Main Hall 510
Phone: 610-436-2450

Office Hours: M - 12:00-1:45 p.m., T - (Center City Campus) 5:00-5:45 p.m., W - 12:00-1:45 p.m., F - 1:00-1:45 p.m.

Elaine B. Jenks, Ph.D.

Elaine B, Jenks


E-mail: Elaine B. Jenks

Office: Main Hall 515

Office Hours: T & R - 7:00-8:00am & 3:15-4:15pm, W - 1:00-2:00pm 

Ola Kopacz, Ph.D.

Ola Kopacz

Associate Professor

E-mail: Ola Kopacz

Office: Wayne 226
Phone: (484) 604-0758
Office Hours: M/W 8am-9:45am, 2pm-2:45pm
Click here to schedule a meeting.

Bessie Lawton, Ph.D.

Bessie Lawton headshot

Associate Professor

E-mail: Bessie Lawton

Office: Main Hall 519
Phone: (610) 436-6991

Office Hours: M - 9:00-12:00 pm, W - 10:00-11:00 am, F - 10:00-11:00 am

David Levasseur, Ph.D.

David Levasseur


E-mail: David Levasseur

Office: Main Hall 510
Phone: (610) 436-2450

Office Hours: Tuesday - 11:00am-12:00pm, Wednesday - 9:30am-12:30pm, Thursday - 11:00am-12:00pm

Edward Lordan, Ph.D.

Edward Lordan


E-mail: Edward Lordan

Office: Main Hall 502
Phone: (610) 436-2114

Office Hours: Tuesday - Thursday 11:00 to 1:00, Wednesday 9:00 to noon and 1:00 to 4:00

Lisa Millhous, Ph.D.

Lisa Millhous

Associate Professor

E-mail: Lisa Millhous

Office: Main Hall 501
Phone: (610) 436-3167 (during office hours)

Office Hours: T 12:30-2, W 9-11, Th 12:30-2 Note: If you have an APSCUF concern contact Monika Mayer at the APSCUF office (811 Roslyn Ave 610-436-1064;

Denise Polk, Ph.D.

Denise Polk

Professor and Chair

E-mail: Denise Polk

Office: Main Hall 512 
Phone: (610) 436-2500

Office Hours: Fall 2017 Office Hours: T: 1:45-3:30; TH: 10:00-12:00 noon. Advisees must bring their updated COM advising sheet for advising. 

Martin S. Remland, Ph.D.

Martin Remland


E-mail: Martin Remland

Office: Main Hall 507
Phone: (610) 436-2658

Office Hours: 

J. Kanan Sawyer, Ph.D.

Kanan Sawyer

Associate Professor

E-mail: J. Kanan Sawyer

Office: Main Hall 511
Phone: (610) 430-4414 (SHARED PHONE) (no personal messages please)

Office Hours: MWF 11am-1pm (these are open office hours; no appointments made in this time but drop in when it works for you; please let Dr. Sawyer know if you are waiting outside the office - we often work with many students at the same time but could not have time for you if we do not know that you are waiting)

Philip A. Thompsen, Ph.D.

Philip Thompsen


E-mail: Philip A. Thompsen

Office: Main Hall 508
Phone: (610) 436-2283

Office Hours: Dr. Thompsen is on sabbatical during Fall 2017

Schedule an appointment online with Dr. Thompsen

Julia Waddell, Ph.D.

Julia Waddell

Assistant Professor

E-mail: Julia Waddell

Office: Main Hall 304
Phone: (610) 436-6987

Office Hours: MWF 10-11, 4-5

Roger Davis Gatchet, Ph.D.

Roger Gatchet

Assistant Professor

E-mail: Roger Davis Gatchet

Office: Wayne Hall 232
Phone: (610) 436-2500

Office Hours: (Spring 2018) Monday, Wednesday, and Friday 10-10:45 a.m.; Thursday 8-11 a.m.; or by appointment

Michael P. Boyle, Ph.D.

Michael Boyle


E-mail: Michael P.Boyle, Ph.D.

Office: Main Hall 502
Phone: 610-436-2114

Office Hours: T/Th 10:00-11:00am and W 9:00am-12:00pm

Courses Taught:
  • COM212: Mass Communication
  • COM224: Research Methods

Michael Pearson, Ph.D.

Michael Pearson headshot

Associate Professor

E-mail: Michael Pearson

Office: #515 Main Hall and #203 Graduate Business Center (GBC)
Phone: 610-436-2494 (GBC) 610-436-2550 (Main Hall)

Office Hours: Fall 2016: Tuesdays 11:00a-12:15p, Wednesdays 11:00a-12 noon, Thursdays 11:00a-12:15p

Jan Crump

Jan Crump Headshot

Adjunct Professor

E-mail: Jan Crump

Office: Wayne 221
Phone: 803-467-3460 (cell)
Office hours:Thursday 2:30-4:15

Laura Brown, Ph.D.

Laura Brown Headshot

Adjunct Professor

E-mail: Laura Brown

Office: Main Hall 211
Phone: (610) 430-4974

Office Hours: W & F - 11:00am - 12pm, T - 8:00am - 11:00am

Julia Pfaff

Julia Pfaff Headshot

Adjunct Professor

E-mail: Julia Pfaff

Office: Main Hall 211

Office Hours: M - 12:15-2:45, W - 12:45-2:45, R -12:15-12:45

Jesse Piersol

Jesse Piersol headshot

Adjunct Professor

E-mail: Jesse Piersol

Office: Main Hall 104
Phone: (610) 436-2500

Office Hours: M - 3:30-4:15, W - 3-4:15 & 7-10pm, R - 3:30-4:15

Wendy Smythe

Wendy Smythe Headshot

Adjunct Professor

E-mail: Wendy Smythe

Office: Main Hall 104
Phone: (610) 436-3087 (Unable to accept messages)

Office Hours: MW 10:00am - 11:45am MWF 1:00pm - 1:45pm Also by appointment.

Eryn Travis

Eryn Travis Headshot


E-mail: Eryn Travis

Office: Main Hall 404

Office Hours: M - 2:00 - 3:30, T - 9:00 to 11:00, W - 2:00 - 3:30

Ric Winston

Ric Winston Headshot

Adjunct Professor

E-mail: Ric Winston

Office: Main Hall 104
Phone: (610) 430-4974

Office Hours: Tuesday 3:15-4:15 Wednesday 1:15-4:15 Thursday 3-4

 Jeslin Joseph

Jeslin Joseph headshot

Adjunct Professor

E-mail: Jeslin Joseph

Office: Main Hall 522
Phone: (610) 436-3220

Office Hours: M- 8:00-9:00am & W- 1:00-2:00pm, W-8:00-9:00am & W- 1:00-2:00pm, F- 8:00am-9:00am

Angel Bigas

Angel Bigas Headshot

Adjunct Professor

E-mail: Angel Bigas

Office: Main Hall 522

Office Hours: M 2:25-4:25pm, T/Th 1:30-3pm

Andrea M. Pampaloni, Ph.D.

Andrea Pampaloni Headshot

Adjunct Professor

E-mail: Andrea Pampaloni

Office: WCU Center City Campus

Office Hours: M - 4:30-6:00pm

Anne Walsh, M.A.

Anne Walsh Headshot

Adjunct Professor

E-mail: Anne Walsh

Office: Main Hall 116 
Phone: 610-436-3220

Office Hours: T: 3:20-4:20 W: 2:20-4:20 TH: 2:20-4:20

Back to top of page.