View Text Only Version

Executive Vice President and Provost

Vice Provost for Research and Creative Activity

Contact Executive Vice President and Provost  

Executive Vice President and Provost

Philips Memorial Hall
Room 103
700 South High Street
West Chester, PA 19383

Phone: 610-436-3405

Dr. R. Lorraine Bernotsky
Executive Vice President and Provost

Jennifer Loeper
Executive Associate to the Provost

Vice Provost for Research and Creative Activity

Congratulations to Nicole Bennett, Vice Provost for Research and Creative Activity

Nicole Bennett

Dr. Nicole Bennett, Associate Professor in the Department of Chemistry at Appalachian State University, currently serves as Interim Director of the Research Institute of Environment, Energy, & Economics. As Interim Director, Dr. Bennett supports research within those three core areas of inquiry. From 2013-2016, she served as a Program Officer for the NSF Division of Undergraduate Education working with the Noyce Foundation, NSF Improving Undergraduate STEM Education and S-STEM programs. Nicole has been the principle investigator or co-principle investigator for undergraduate research projects funded through the National Science Foundation's (NSF) Professional Opportunities for Women in Research program; NSF Course, Curriculum, and Laboratory Improvement program; Merck/AAAS Undergraduate Science Research Program; NSF Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics Talent Expansion Program; NSF Major Research Instrumentation Program; NSF Research Experiences for Undergraduates; N.C. Space Grant; and Pfizer Inc.

Dr. Bennett received a Bachelor of Science in Chemistry from UNC-Chapel Hill in 1990 followed by a Ph.D. in Organic Chemistry from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1996. In 2002, she joined the faculty at Appalachian State University where she established a vigorous undergraduate research program in physical organic studies of microwave-induced synthesis of biodiesel and small molecules.


Corinne Murphy


Vishal Shah


Melissa Reed

Institutional Review Board

Simon Condliffe

Research Advisory Council

Israel San Sanchez

Faculty Senate

Allison Kolpas

University Research Funding Committee

Megan Corbin

Council on Undergraduate Research

Matthew Pierlott

Council of Chairs

Anil Kandalam


Holly Jackson


Laura Vassallo


Chris Hanning


Christopher Stancil


Back to top of page.