View Text Only Version

Committee for Excellence in Learning and Teaching


Contact Committee for Excellence in Learning and Teaching  

Committee for Excellence in Learning and Teaching

Committee for Excellence in Learning and Teaching (CELT)

About Us

The Committee for Excellence in Learning and Teaching (CELT) fosters collaborations among faculty and with students to build a scholarly community around issues of learning and teaching. At WCU, we prioritize teaching, and CELT's mission builds directly on this focus. CELT aims to improve learning and teaching to the benefit of the entire WCU community. We want to help you identify engaging and innovative ways to improve your own teaching, so that teachers and students both have opportunities to maximize learning.

Summer Workshop

Inquiry, curiosity, and wondering are some of the most human capacities that exist. Privileging student voice in the process of their learning is critical. Let’s discover how we can empower our students through inquiry to grow and transform their lives. Workshop facilitator Diana Laufenberg will hightlight examples, resources, and tips for classroom implementation.

Learn More about the Annual CELT Workshop

Funding Opportunity

The CELT Professional Development Award Application is now closed. Funding is available for faculty interested in pedagogical strategies that enhance student engagement, curricular and assessment innovations that improve student learning, and projects that create a “J” course designation, or integrate the issues of race, disability, gender, class, ethnicity, sexual orientation, and international concerns into new or existing curriculum. CELT seeks to promote a variety of teaching and learning strategies that actively engage students and that will result in improved student learning as part of the new strategic plan. CELT will award up to five development grants this cycle for up to $2,000 for activities to be to be completed between July 1, 2018 and May 12, 2019.

2017-2018 Committee Members

Faculty Associate: Lisa Lucas


Janneken Smucker


Rachel Joseph


Committee Members: Beatrice Adera, Patricia Davidson, Michelle Donlin, Lauri Hyers, Ola Kopacz, Stephen Marvin, Cassandra Reyes, Jodi Roth-Saks, Donna Sanderson, Tina Selvaggi, Jackie Zaleswki

**This committee has several member at large positions. If you are interested in joining the committee, please contact Faculty Associate,

Lisa Lucas.


Spring 2018 Committee Meetings

All meetings will take place from 12:00pm - 1:00pm in Wayne room 605.

  • February 7, 2018 Meeting
  • March 7, 2018 Meeting
  • April 4, 2018 Meeting
  • May 2, 2018 Meeting

Committee Meeting Minutes

Back to top of page.