Department of English

West Chester University

Contact Info
Dr. Jen Bacon
532 Main Hall
West Chester, PA 19383

Student Awards

English Department Scholarship (incoming student)

The English Department Faculty Scholarship will be awarded to an incoming student. This student can be a student new to college or can be a transfer student; however, the transfer students' applications must be complete by the spring admissions deadline so that their scholarship applications can be considered with those of the other students. Read more about the scholarship and download a scholarship application.


2007 Meghan Ward
2006 Alan Walton

Alan W. France Memorial Award

Named in honor of our esteemed colleague, the Alan W. France writing award is conferred each spring to a student enrolled in either fall or spring semester in a general education writing course. The award is given to the author of the best essay exploring relationships among language, thought, and culture, one of the rhetorical principles established for all writing courses.


2012 Eden A. Bentley and Anthony K. Thomas, co-recipients
2011 Laura J. Nitkowski
2010 Laura C. Blyton

2009 Ryan Placchetti
2008 Selina A. Carrera
2007 Timothy W. Bruno
2006 Diesha Elliott
2005 Matthew D. Fogarty
2004 Eli Wenger
2003 Jennifer Hollak
2002 Matt Kay

Best English Seminar Paper

Established in 2005, this award is presented to the student who wrote the best seminar paper for the academic year.


2012 Laura C. Blyton
2011 Danna M. Tilford
2010 Carol L. O'Brien

2009 Timothy W. Bruno
2008 Michael Stadnycki
2007 Lisa M. McCann
2006 Shannon Bernard
2005 Eileen Gray

Herbert Mitchell Scholarship


2015 Christina M. Grandizio

John Feely Hopkins Short Story Award

Instituted in 2002, the Hopkins award is presented to "a graduating senior who has prepared a portfolio of short stories which exhibit imagination, artistic merit, high literary quality, growth in content and commitment within the portfolio."


2012 Deanna M. Vasso
2011 Nicole C. Welsh
2010 Jeanne L. Martin

2009 Adam D. Kaplan
2008 Kieran G. Kenny
2007 Joseph P. McDonald
2006 Chris Timmins
2005 La'Keisha Kelly
2004 Courtenay Dunn
2003 Ronda R. Jackson
2002 Christopher D. Cameron

Viola Marple Award

Honors female undergraduate English students who exemplify the highest standards in scholarship and service, as selected by the English Department faculty.


2012 Jessica J. Rossana and Katherine J. Mills, co-recipients
2011 Laura C. Blyton and Daryl A. Tubiello, co-recipients
2010 Kelly M. Klick, Julia M. Traczuk

2009 Jane G. Mahoney, Patricia A. Sunseri
2008 Veronica A. Glasso, Susan M. Berberich
2007 Katrina Dix (sole recipient)
2006 Megan Trexler, Emily Chamberlin
2005 Michelle Fendrick, Sarah Leventer
2004 Amanda Davis, Christina Hoffmann
2003 Rachel Cohen-Altomare, Emily Kimble
2002 Krista Schroth, Kelly Virgin
2001 Lizette Gill, Emma (Beth) McGinty
2000 Michelle Dague, Jennifer Gentile

Walker Hamilton Award

Recognizes outstanding academic achievement by a graduating senior. One student is selected each year.


2012 Laura C. Blyton
2011 Kaitlin M. Tito
2010 Alyssa C. Conaway

2009 Ashley L. Thomas
2008 Nicole B. Cheikh
2007 Bethany M. Brownholtz
2006 Michelle Fendrick
2005 Christina Hoffmann
2004 Emma (Beth) McGinty
2003 Lisa M. McGillicuddy

EAPSU Outstanding Student Award


2012 Laura J. Nitkowski
2011 Kristin L. Solanick
2010 Travis R. Pearson

2009 Alyssa C. Conaway
2008 Alex T. Bruce
2007 None Awarded
2006 Megan Trexler
2005 Tyler Bradway
2004 Sarah Bentz
2003 Jill Purdy