Department of History

West Chester University

404 Wayne Hall
Phone: 610-436-2201
Fax: 610-436-3069


Regular Faculty

Professor Cecilia Chien
Acting Chair, Spring 2015
Subjects: China, East Asia
Office: Wayne 406
Phone: (610) 436-2201
cchien@wcupa.edu
Professor Martha Donkor
Subjects: Gender, Immigration, Race, Africa
Office: Wayne 431
Phone: (610) 436-2569
mdonkor@wcupa.edu
Profeesor Eric Fournier
Graduate Coordinator
Subjects: Ancient, Medieval, Historiography
Office: Wayne 415
Phone: (610) 436-2168
efournier@wcupa.edu
Professor Jonathan Friedman
Director, Holocaust-Genocide Studies

Subjects: Holocaust, Modern Europe
Office: Main 409
Phone: (610) 436-2972
jfriedman@wcupa.edu
Brenda
Subjects:Early Modern Europe, Central Europe, European Religion
Office: Wayne 421
Phone: (610) 436-0734
bgaydosh@wcupa.edu
Professor Karin Gedge
Social Studies Coordinator
Subjects: American Religion, American Intellectual, Social Studies
Office: Wayne 416
Phone: (610) 436-2971
kgedge@wcupa.edu
Steve
American Studies Coordinator
Subjects: Colonial, Revolutionary, American Studies
Office: Wayne 417
Phone: (610) 436-2237
sgimber@wcupa.edu
Professor Wayne Hanley
Department Chair (on leave)
Subjects: France, Britain, Social Studies
Office: Wayne 406
Phone: (610) 436-2201
whanley@wcupa.edu
Professor Charles Hardy
Internship Coordinator, Acting Assistant Chair
Subjects: Environmental, PA History, US Pop Culture
Office: Wayne 414
Phone: (610) 436-3329
chardy@wcupa.edu
Professor Jim Jones
Subjects: Africa, Atlantic World, Globalization
Office: Wayne 411
Phone: (610) 436-2312
jjones@wcupa.edu
Lisa Kirschenbaum
Subjects: Russia, Women's History
Office: Wayne 412
Phone: (610) 436-2997
lkirschenbaum@wcupa.edu
Professor Robert Kodofsky
Subjects: Military, Diplomatic, Social Studies
Office: Wayne 419
Phone: (610) 436-2288
rkodofsky@wcupa.edu
Anna
Subjects: Gilded Age and Progressive Era, Public History, Cities and Suburbs
Office: Wayne 425
Phone: (610) 436-2255akrulikowski@wcupa.edu
Thomas
Subjects: Civil War, Maritime, Technology, Social Studies
Office: Wayne 428
Phone: (610) 436-0741
tlegg@wcupa.edu
Tia Malkin

Subjects: Latin America, Brazil, Social Studies
Office: Wayne 430
Phone: (610) 436-2654
tmalkin-fontecchio@wcupa.edu
Professor Brent Ruswick
Subjects:Social Studies, History of Science, Gilded Age and Progressive Era;
Office: Wayne 409
Phone: 610-436-2248
bruskwick@wcupa.edu
James
Subjects: US and World History, Social Studies
Office: Wayne 423
Phone: (610) 436-2212
jscythes@wcupa.edu
Professor Janneken Smucker
Subjects: Digital History, American Material Culture
Office: Wayne 413
Phone: (610) 436-2345
jsmucker@wcupa.edu
Profressor thames taylor
Subjects: African-American, South, US Economic
Office: Wayne 432
Phone: (610) 436-2970
lthames-taylor@wcupa.edu
Professor Elizabeth Urban
Subjects: Islamic World, Gender, World History
Office: Wayne 429
Phone:610-436-2541
eurban@wcupa.edu