Languages and Cultures

West Chester University

Dr. Jerome Williams
224 Mitchell Hall
West Chester, PA 19383
Phone: 610-436-2700
Fax: 610-436-3048
Jerome Williams


Undergraduate Minors

We offer an exciting array of minors in languages here at West Chester, including Classics, French, German, Italian, Russian and Spanish. We also offer a minor in Linguistics and in Latin American and Latino/a Studies.

In order to complete a minor in any of the languages offered, a student needs to complete 18 credit hours (generally, 6 courses) in that language or area at WCU.

At least 50 percent of minor course work must be taken at West Chester (you can transfer only up to 50 per cent of coursework towards the minor).

In each of the first two courses you pursue to fulfill the minor (ordinarily 101 and 102), a minimum grade of B is required.
A minimum grade of C is required in course beyond the 102 level.

We feel strongly that a minor in a language will make a major difference in a student's future career. Since the language major includes four semesters of a second language as a requirement, a student can complete a minor in that language with the addition of a couple courses, as long as it adds up to six courses in all.

Our advanced minors study side by side with the majors and participate in the language program activities, including study abroad.

 

LANGUAGE MINOR CONTACT INFORMATION
Please contact the approppriate Faculty for each minor

Dr. Megan Saltzman
MSaltzman@wcupa.edu / Mitchell 226
and
Dr. Jason Bartles
JBartles@wcupa.edu
/ Mitchell 132

CLASSICS

Dr. John Rosso
jrosso@wcupa.edu
  /  Mitchell Hall 135


Dr. Margarete Landwehr
mlandwehr@wcupa.edu  /  Mitchell Hall 121 


Dr. Anne-Marie Moscatelli
amoscatelli@wcupa.edu   /  Mitchell Hall 237

RUSSIAN

Dr. Alice Speh
aspeh@wcupa.edu  /  Mitchell Hall 125

Dr. Anne-Marie Moscatelli
amoscatelli@wcupa.edu   /  Mitchell Hall 237
and
Dr. Michel Sage

msage@wcupa.edu  /  Mitchell Hall 238

Dr. Israel Sanz
isanzsanch@wcupa.edu  /  Mitchell Hall 126

Dr. Marcos Campillo
mcampillo@wcupa.edu  /  Mitchell Hall 129